The Winners Are…

The London Surf / Film Festival is stoked to announce the winners of the 2012 awards. After 13 packed features and over 30 films screened, the screening panel has voted the following films;

Best Film, presented by Oakley: HERE + NOW, dir: Nathan Myers, USA

Oakley rider and 3x UK pro tour Champ Gwen Spurlock presents the Best Film Award for ‘Here + Now’ to UK big wave charger Tom Butler, who accepted it on behalf of Nathan Myers. Image: Simon Plunket

Best DocumentaryNORTH OF THE SUN, dir: Inge Wegge & Jørn Nyseth Ranum, NOR

Inge Wegge accepts the award for Best Documentary for ‘North of the Sun’, which also scooped the prestigious Viewers Choice Award. Image: Simon Plunket

Best Cinematography, presented by XSories: DEAR SUBURBIA, dir. Kai Neville, AUS

The Spirit of the Festival AwardTHE AFRICA PROJECT, dir: Jason Hearn, SA

Best British Film, presented by Finisterre: THE ENDLESS WINTER, dir: Matt Crocker and James Dean, UK

Ernie Capbert from Finisterre presents The Best British Film Award to James Dean for ‘The Endless Winter’. Image: Simon Plunket

Best International Short, presented by magicseaweed: SURF MAGAZINES DON’T TALK ABOUT LAPSED CATHOLICS, Dir: Todd Stewart, USA

Shortie of the Year, presented by National Trust: THE SHAPER, dir: Rob Lockyear, Richard Pearn, Jeremy Joyce, UK

Robyn Davies, 5x British Champion and National Trust Watersports Coordinator, presents The Shortie Award to (l-r) Rob Lockyear, Jeremy Joyce and Richard Pearn for their short film ‘The Shaper’. Image: Simon Plunket

The Viewers Choice Award, presented by Oakley, is voted for by the audience over the four days of the festival. This year the overwhelming winner is: NORTH OF THE SUN, dir: Inge Wegge & Jørn Nyseth Ranum, NOR

Thanks to all the filmmakers who entered their films for this year’s event. We were stoked to screen so many amazing films and host so many great filmmaker Q&A’s. Our thanks also go out to the screening panel for being involved, taking the time to view and feedback on this year’s films. It’s a joy to work with such enthusiastic supporters of independent filmmaking.

There are also Honourable Mentions from the jury for the following films:

Film: Sally, dir: Simon Treweek and Nicholas Damon, Aus

Documentary: The Boardroom, dir: Markus Davids, USA

Cinematography: Here + Now, dir: Nathan Myers, USA

British Film: Sink Swim, dir: John Eldridge and Mathilda Fristrom, UK

International Short: Wight Side of Wrong, dir: Peter Hamblin, SA