Vans Off The Wall 10th Edition Coming

LS/FF 10 x Vans and the Winners Are…

Director Seth Hughes Winner LS/FF 10 Shortie of the Year presented by Surfdome basking in the golden glow of walking away with the £1000 filmmakers fund award // Image: Adriana Lozano


Sometimes you have to take stock. Sometimes you need take a minute to breathe, to sit out back after a perfect set wave or to just appreciate the moment. Or to look across a sea of heads and back over ten years of community gatherings, surf films, music and more. A decade when the global surfing tribe has taken time out to come together in appreciation of the independent creatives that are at the beating heart of our culture.

These have been a difficult couple of years for filmmakers, creatives and festivals – but 2021 turned out to be a special festival. A much needed chance to rekindle friendships, to make new friends, to forge bonds over common interests and values, or simply to watch great films, listen to great music, and to let your hair down.

The Skinners and crew in town for the world premiere of Concrete’s Harder Than Water – The Lukas Skinner Story Dir. Seth Hughes Winner Best British Film // Image: Surf Sistas

And so, after a raft of World, European and UK Premieres, special audiences with stars of the surf and screen, live music from Jack Bessant and friends, plus good times and more, London Surf / Film Festival would like to say a huge thanks to everyone who came, made films, watched movies, supported, shared Sharp’s beers, Jimmy’s Iced Coffees and Aluna Coconut Rum, talked story with friends old and new, hooted, voted and brought the stoke including our partners Vans, Surfdome, Arbor, Surf Ears, Venn Creative, Surf Sistas, Cord Surfboards, Carve, Magicseaweed, Surf Girl and Huck.

The results of the LS/FF Jury are in and here are the 10th annual London Surf / Film Festival x VANS winners:

Best Film presented by Vans: SWEET ADVENTURE Dir. Peter Hamblin

Viewer’s Choice presented by Vans: UNDONE Dir. Steve Wall

Best Documentary by Arbor: WATER GET NO ENEMY Dir. Arthur Bourbon & Damien Castera

Shortie of the Year presented by Surfdome: WINDOW Dir. Seth Hughes

Emerging Talent presented by Surfdome: GRATEFUL Dir. Rory Sutherland

Best International Short: KALANI GIFT FROM HEAVEN Dir. Nuno Dias

Best Soundtrack presented by Surf Ears: SWEET ADVENTURE Dir. Peter Hamblin

Best Cinematography: UNDONE Dir. Steve Wall

Best British Film presented by Carve: CONCRETE’S HARDER THAN WATER Dir. Seth Hughes

Spirit of the Festival presented by Aluna Coconut Rum: BIG VS SMALL Dir.  Minna Dufton

ICON Award presented by Approaching Lines : MORNING OF THE EARTH Dir. Albert Falzon

Peter Hamblin – winner Best Film for the beautiful, zeitgeist capturing ‘Sweet Adventure’ // Image: Adriana Lozano